Categories of Members

From barely 27 members at the inaugural general meeting, NAN can now boast of a significantly enhanced membership that includes about 200 renal physicians and scientists, resident in Nigeria as well as a handful of practicing nephrologists and physicians abroad.

Membership of the Association is categorized into five:

  1. Foundation Members shall consist of those persons who were present at the inaugural and preliminary meetings. Also those who by the time of the 1st Annual General Meeting had indicated in writing to become members of the Association should they be eligible.
  2. Ordinary Members shall be qualified medical practitioners actively engaged in the practice, teaching or research into Renal Medicine and Surgery and related fields.
  3. Associate Members shall be any individual with an interest in Nephrology and its related fields who sympathize with objectives of the Association and will be encouraged to partake therein.
  4. Honorary Members shall be individuals, not necessarily medical, who the Association may from time to time decide to honour for their deeds and services rendered in the realization of the Association’s objectives.
  5. Corporate Members: This shall include corporate organisations interested in supporting care of renal patients, prevention of renal disease and research into renal medicine.